Mind Maps and Theory Icebergs

IMG_3333

I don’t normally make outlines for pieces I write. When dealing with complex information, I do mind-maps and wild zero drafts, which each have a constellation of “side notes” and “extracts” that move forward, parallel to the paper itself, as I weed out eliminated material. I save all of this and continually mine it for future works.

Below are three mind maps I made for my thesis, which take on the role of the annotated outline.

The theory mind map is the densest of the three. I see the theory as a vitally important foundation and I recognize that much of the theory mapped below will be reserved for a future social theory text, and therefore left out of the visual arts thesis. I also see the theory map as a series of icebergs. Though heavily detailed in my “backend” superstructure, only the tip of each iceberg will actually punch its way through into my thesis, in order to highlight or support discussion of the actual artworks. It is important for me to fully flesh out the theories, as a theory-based artist, though the structure of the MFA thesis dictates discussion of the physical works takes predominance.

The Installation
This mind-map addresses which aspects of theory attach to which of the three specific mediums. It also outlines which of my influences (and their specific works) attach to each train of thought.

Click for larger (readable) image.

Installation 1.1

The Theory

Since I’m a theory-driven artist, the theory map is the largest.  As I mentioned above, it was necessary for me to flesh out the sub-structure, even though only the highlights will punch through to the thesis. The rest will be reserved for a future text on social theory.

Click for larger (readable) image.

Thesis - Theory 3

Single Idea Map – Primal Media Forensics

This map shows a detailed “dig” into just The Hunt segment (from the theory map), which turned out to be incredibly important in supporting the reason for my interdisciplinary approach. Believe it or not, this ties into my actual discussion of the installation as a whole. This is just a map of how all of the parts I researched relate to one section.

Click for larger (readable) image.

The Cascade, the Hunt, the Search

I will be submitting these mind maps, along with a thesis ‘latticework’ to my adviser this month. I will share the zero draft latticework when it is ‘complete.’

3 thoughts on “Mind Maps and Theory Icebergs

  1. Ann K. Olsen

    This great Ren. Its fascinating to see how all we all have a different way of organizing our thoughts and working them through. The challenge of the thesis is to weave our ideas, our medium, our artistic influences and at the center, theory, into a cohesive argument. A linear outline doesn’t always serve that–content circles back on itself as the writing progresses.

    Reply
  2. plasticpumpkin Post author

    Thanks, guys! I find mapping useful, as it allows me to see relationships in a ‘topographic’ way. I still have to do a lot of writing to (and about) the actual pieces, but that should be fuel for the first draft.

    Hope everything is going well for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

