Collaborative Project – Self as Verb

selfasverb

“Self as (Geologic) Verb,” 2014. Entry into collaborative project.

Ann Olsen organized a Group 3 collaborative project where each member of our MFA cohort develops a response to a quote on a 9″ x 6″ card. We then send the finished card to another MFA student in the group, who then responds to the work in their own way. My partner in this process is Nancy Meyer. I’ll be receiving what she develops and she’ll be getting this mixed media work from me.

Self as (Geologic) Verb is developed in watercolor, ink and Prismacolor on Arches paper. I tried working on the original card Ann sent, but apparently my usual method of working in wet media blew the poor paper’s mind. I ended up with a dimpled, curled paper that was unworkable (and not a happy accident). So, I cut a piece of Arches to 9″ x 6″ in order to investigate what I had in mind.

I combined two different (already layered) digital stills from The Cascade, then folded them into additional elements from the Mojave desert, emphasizing the turned-out nature of the ambiguous landscape and its relationship to the human presence.

I could resolve the piece more completely, but Nancy will take care of its final incarnation. I’m leaving aspects of it open in anticipation of this.

Here are the stages the piece went through:

IMG_2813_edit

IMG_2817_edit

IMG_2820

 

And here are the digital stills I worked from:

IMG_2815

One thought on “Collaborative Project – Self as Verb

  1. Pingback: Collaborative Project, Part II | Ren Adams – AIB MFA Blog

Leave a Reply

