Seeds for Spring – In Progress Art Works

There is a pile of unfinished work that will be a jumping off point in January. There are many pieces, but I’m sharing a few here, so you can see where they begin (and later how they get resolved).

Descriptions are below each image.

IMG_1742

I’m excited about these guys. They are cut collage shapes, ready for mounting and manipulation, created using a combination of printmaking techniques, including monotype, serigraphy and lithography.

IMG_3045 

This is a rabbit skin glue collage of pieces cut from lithographs and woodcuts. This is a technique my mentor taught me, which creates a secure, high-bonded collage capable of being sanded, painted and physically manipulate without tearing off. It’s mounted on a birch panel.

I’ll be trying more of this technique, while also using a digital fresco technique that I worked heavily with another artist.

IMG_3047

A new screen I made to do more rock-shape “stamping.” I thought I’d show how I sometimes develop more than one shape on the same screen, though they don’t necessarily form a complete image on their own. I’m always considering the relational conversation of layered moments.
improgress12

A pile of works that show underlayers. They look so bare!

inprogress13

More underlayers awaiting new elements. I was trying an almost gaudy decorative paper, just for the hell of it.

20130918-220742.jpg

 

More of the cut collage shapes, ready for mounting and manipulation, created using a combination of printmaking techniques, including monotype, serigraphy and lithography.

Leave a Reply

