Diebenkorn in New Mexico

plate 44

Untitled, 1951
Oil on canvas, 55 x 35 in.
University of New Mexico Art Museum, Albuquerque
Gift of the artist

 

In doing research for my Comparative Analysis paper, I’ve run across a few nice galleries of Richard Diebenkorn’s work that I thought I would share. I’ve found it interesting that Diebenkorn has lived in several of the same places I have, and been exposed to a number of areas I’ve also visited, with regional influence bleeding into his sophisticated works. He attended graduate school at UNM in the early 1950s and did a series of paintings that blended his Bay Area sensibilities with New Mexico visual language.

Here’s a nice little collection: Diebenkorn Gallery at New York University

Just thought I’d share.

 

Leave a Reply

